What Have You Done, Mom?

Who told you to give birth to your baby, mom?
Did I misbehave a lot inside your belly?
I never asked you for crown or castle;
Inside you I lived, I was happy enough.

You gave birth to me, but why bring me up?
Bundle, cradle, was I too much trouble, then?
Why not keep your baby in your arms?
Didn’t you know it was afraid of being alone?

Is life sweeter than your milk, mom?
Is it a talent, to live, mom, why not ask me?
Plead to the day, surrender to the night.
Is it worth wasting a life for!

Inside you I lived, I was happy enough!
Crown or castle, I never asked for, mom!
Did I misbehave a lot inside your belly, mom?
Who told you to give birth to your baby, mom?

Cahit Sıtkı Tarancı (1910-1956). Anne, Ne Yaptın? Translated from the Turkish.

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

