In Raptures

Are they love, the rugged mountains,
Does love cascade down when time freezes?
If longing for you wrapped not the darkness,
Would love bind itself to evenings?

Hoping you’re there, into non-existence I plunged,
I’m a leaf in case you’re the wind,
Find you in a song sometimes,
In case you may fly, I close my eyes.

The whole world is too small for this longing,
My love has colours in the sky,
A flower, so delicate, delicate you are,
I’m in raptures, raptures… like Spring.

Fazıl Hüsnü Dağlarca (1904-2008). Sarhoşum. Translated from the Turkish.

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

