A Long Narrow Road

On a long narrow road
I journey day and night
Don’t know how I am
I journey day and night

The moment I came into the world
I began to walk
Through a two-gate caravanserai
I journey day and night

In sleep too I walk
Looking for reasons to stop
Always seeing the gone
I journey day and night

Forty-nine years on these roads
Lowlands mountains deserts
Far away from home
I journey day and night

Contemplating
It looks distant
A one-minute road
I journey day and night

Veysel marvelling
Sometimes smiles sometimes weeps
To reach the end
I journey day and night

Aşık (folk singer-song writer) Veysel (1894-1973). Uzun İnce Bir Yoldayım. Translated from the English.

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

