For Those Longing for the Sea

Boats sail in my dreams,
Colourful, spangled, over roofs;
Unhappy me,
For years longing for the sea,
“I watch and weep”.

I remember the first time I saw the world,
From a mussel shell, through the gap:
Water green, sky blue;
Moiré wrasse…
Salty, my blood still flows
Where oysters cut.

What a mad journey it was,
Towards the open sea, white foams and us!
Foams, that aren’t wicked,
That look like lips;
Not a disgrace
Their adultery with humans.

Boats sail in my dreams,
Colourful, spangled, over roofs;
Unhappy me,
For years longing for the sea.

Orhan Veli (1914-1950). Denizi Özleyenler İçin. Translated from the Turkish.

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

